Three Years

Tomorrow will be my big three-year anniversary of my Papillary Carcinoma/Thyroid Cancer diagnosis. It’s amazing how quickly and slowly it’s gone at the same time. This was the beginning of a rough two years from me, but it wasn’t the end of me. Tuns out that it was a new start.

Three years ago I was scared, I didn’t realize what I was capable of handling. Now, I have a fairly good idea.

Three years ago, I was horrified by the scar that I now had to live with. I was afraid my life would be defined by the scar, terrified that people would only see the scar and not me. Now, I define my scar. While it’s not as readily visible as it was, I still see it every day. I once had our favorite photographer edit out my scar, now that picture seems weird because it’s not there. Munch and Monkey don’t even realize that there was a me without the scar. The scar now is a badge I wear proudly, it is the mark of a survivor.

Three years ago I became a survivor whether I knew it or not.

20110603-091041.jpg

Leave a comment